The Pursuit of Happiness PSA

     Happy: cheerful, joyful, content, satisfied, delighted

“Feeling or showing pleasure or contentment.”

What does it mean to be happy? How do you know if you’re happy? What do you need to be happy? Where do you go to be happy? Happiness. It’s a weird word, yet it means so much to so many people, and eludes many of them too.

I am often baffled by people who are miserable in life, they hate everything about their lives, yet when given the opportunity to change it or improve it, they decline and say “no, no, I could never do that.” because it’s different from what they are doing, so it’s uncomfortable and scary. They would rather stay where they are and be miserable in familiar surroundings than choose a new path. If you’re miserable, why not try something different? Why not seek a new path? Life is way to short to be miserable. Happiness is just a series of choices, for better or worse.

I can not speak for anyone else, on what would bring them happiness. It is different for everyone, and only you know what makes you truly happy. Truly joyful. Truly content and delighted.

A good show and a warm furring cat on my lap, and Rob next to me makes me happy. Delicious food that makes you wish you had a second stomach. The way your lungs feel when you inhale the fresh air outside. (unless it’s zero degrees…) Tea makes me happy, colors and textures delight me, creating and making things invigorates me. Spending hours, days, weeks and months during the winter with Rob, just hanging out makes me feel content. Quiet time alone with my Creator makes me joyful. These are just some of life’s little pleasures, of which there are far too many to name.

It is up to you, and only you to create the life you want, and to live each day surrounded by that which brings you happiness.

Dear people who tell me they’re envious of my life, don’t be. I am here because of choices I made, choices I continue to make. Most of them involve taking societies expectations and ignoring them to do whatever makes me happy. I’ve never made a major life decision and chosen the one “I’m supposed to” according to society or anyone else, but me. You can make those choices too. Every day when you wake up, you have a series of choices to make. It’s not going to happen overnight, but if you understand what TRULY makes you happy, the sort of happy that makes your soul feel alive as if light poured out of you. Everyday you can make choices that either bring you closer to that, or farther from that. You decide what kind of people to surround yourself with, what type of energy (positive or negative.) you allow into your heart. If you don’t like something about your life, change it. Even if it’s just in a small way; Such as finding the good in every situation, even bad situations can be good for the way they can teach us to be strong and courageous.

Be who you were meant to be, let your weird flag fly. Do what makes you happy, nevermind about the rest of the world. You’re the only one living your life, don’t let anyone else do it for you.

Get our of your head, Get into your heart, think less, feel more.

I will never be a rich woman. But I am a happy one, a joyful one, a peaceful one. And you can be too.

2 thoughts on “The Pursuit of Happiness PSA

  1. Dear Bri, Peace & joy. I loved your message, but I disagree with your closing statement… YOU ARE RICH beyond all telling. It shows in your blog… wealth is different for different people, I think you have found yours. *U* Kathleen

    1. You are so right, I don’t measure my wealth by the numbers in my account, but rather by looking around at all the things I’ve been blessed with that money can’t buy. By that account, I think I’m one of the wealthiest women there are! Thank you for your kind comment.

What are your thoughts?

