Mongering

Spring it seems will never. ever. arrive. Although, I am not really in a position to complain about the cold. Unlike pretty much everyone else, I do not have to daily brave the frigid temperatures for whatever reason. But still…it’s cold. It was ZERO degrees the other day…

IMG_1362
The studio corner

I must admit, this winter has been rather leisurely even in terms of crafting and being in the kitchen. The lack of function in my hands has really slowed me down. (Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.) Tomorrow I’m going to see a chiropractor about them, and I am waiting anxiously for an order of herbs to arrive with which to make a soothing salve. When those come I will share with you the basics of making herbal salves. So I’ll save the herbalism soap box for then. When I’m not binge watching shows (I discovered an amazing period drama called Larkrise to Candleford on HULU, if you like period dramas go watch it! ) or browsing pinterest I’ve been devoting much of my time to painting. Later this week I will be sending off three entries for the “Places of Mackinac”  Art Exhibition at the Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum. Wish me luck! I’ll find out the results in mid-april. I don’t generally participate in art competitions, (especially where entry fees are involved) because they are so very subjective to the tastes of whomever is judging…and all art work is subjective (it’s one of the great things about it.) But I am feeling quite confident that I have a fair shot, but only time will tell. But still I paint on, and on. I’m almost sorry it took me this long to pick up oil paints. (But then I remember that they’re not cheap….) the colors are so glorious and rich, the texture of the brush against canvas is delightful and the blending is just to die for.

But enough about me, I wanted to take a moment to chat about the Mongering that is going on in our nation right now, specifically Fear mongering. If you’re exposed to any kind of media, social media, news media, tv media etc, it has become commonplace to Fear Monger. Everything and everyone is out to get you. Screen-shot-2013-05-03-at-10.20.13-AM

  Get your guns (the big ones!), get your security systems in your house, in your car (don’t forget the dog’s house!), hide your money, hide your kids,  protect your religious rights, protect yourself from uncomfortable situations. My neighbors are watching me! The government is watching me! The world is out to get us ALL!

Ok…so maybe I’m exaggerating a little. But you get the point. Turn on the news and they will give you at least one new thing to worry about or to be fearful of every day. I can’t stand this. Can’t stand it. I will be the first to admit that the world is a dangerous place if you’re not careful. But what is the point of working everyone up into such a state of fear that they no longer feel safe in their day to day lives? Bad things happen, they do. But being afraid that they COULD happen doesn’t help anyone. It disturbs me greatly that people feel the need to be armed at all times. The public shootings disturb me greatly. One in particular stands out, it happened a while back, an older gentleman at a movie theatre ended up shooting another patron for an incredibly minor offense. Fear, I’m certain, was the driving force behind that trigger. Fear is a natural human emotion, when we lived close to the earth it helped to keep us alive. You should be afraid of that Polar Bear…he will eat you just for the fun of it. But fear has gripped out nation and turned into a nasty, dark, terrifying creature that has dug it’s claws deep into the fabric of our nation. Fear that is fed daily by us soon grows strong and terrible. It becomes harder and harder to break free from that fear the longer we let it stick around.

Fear and Anxiety are things that I struggle with in my personal life. Usually over really stupid things. But they have no place in my life. I refuse to let them. Every single time that fear creeps in, a conscious decision is made to cast it out again. So before you take to heart everything you hear on the news, before you repost that article about the scary things in the world on facebook, ask yourself; what is behind this? Is it merely information to help you navigate the dangers of the world (like how to survive a Polar Bear Attack) or is it fear mongering. Is the purpose to cause fear and distrust amongst the people? Think about it.

With that, I will leave you with this swedish proverb:

Fear less, Hope more

Whine less, Breathe more

Talk less, Say more

Hate less, Love more

and all good things are yours.

What are your thoughts?

