And So The Seasons Turn

Well friends, it seems summer got away from me again. I never can seem to get anything “creative” done in the midst of my summer job. I will however be talking a lot more about that this winter. In the meantime as I am nearing the final days/weeks of work, I’d like to take a moment to let you all know what I’m up to! So go make yourself a cup of coffee, I’ll wait….

Speaking of coffee, The other night I made these tasty scones. They have garden fresh raspberries, real vanilla, and cardmom in them. om nom nom...
Speaking of coffee, The other night I made these tasty scones. They have garden fresh raspberries, real vanilla, and cardmom in them. om nom nom…
I also made these, which are DEElicious! Chocolate scones, with fresh pomegranate seeds (my first time with a whole real pomegranate!) and mini dark chocolate chips.
I also made these, which are DEElicious! Chocolate scones, with fresh pomegranate seeds (my first time with a whole real pomegranate!) and mini dark chocolate chips.

Don’t worry, I’ll share the recipes for those some other time. I’m still working on perfecting it.

So here’s what I’m up to these next few weeks. Work is finishing up, I”ll be done and ready to retire for the winter on October 26th. I have a few projects in mind for this winter. First and foremost I am going to be doing my first craft show this December! Ahhh!! My sister offered to share her space with me for a big Christmas Craft Show down in Kalamazoo on December 14th. “Oh yeah, sure!” I said last winter… when this December was so very far away. So from the end of work until the Craft Show I am going to be putting in as much work as physically can into crafting delightful creations to sell at my table. SO if you’ve just been dying to get your hands on some of my goods, I’ll let you know when and where you can find me, so you can mark your calendars. Otherwise you can take your chances and whatever I don’t sell at the show I plan on listing online. So there’s that, I’ve got lots of cool things bouncing around the imaginarium and will be sharing them with you as they emerge.

I have also taken up oil painting over the summer. It’s something I’ve always resisted, but finally bit the bullet, and put that brush to canvas and oh. my. god. i’m in love with it. But THAT is a post for another day.

I am still fighting this carpal tunnel nonsense, but through various methods discovered it is manageable so far. That being said, if you are the praying type, prayers’ for my wrists would be very welcome. It is by His blessings that I create.

frugal-housewife
Clicking on the picture, should bring you to the FREE e-book edition on amazon, so you can put it right on your kindle!

I have also decided this year to enroll in several self-driven “life-long learner” classes.  I am going to be studying Food History, by studying old recipes and cookbooks, researching modern food historians and their work, and of course do some practical application in the kitchen. I hope to share the neat things that I find with the rest of you. If you’d like to dabble in food history let me recommend two books to you right off the bat. The first one is “The American Frugal Housewife” By Lydia Marie Child.  She is just a fabulous woman. The book was written in the early 19th century, this edition being published in 1833. Her advice on running and frugal and economic, yet comfortable, household are timeless. Her principles apply readily to many aspects of modern households.

The other book I’m fond of is “History from the Hearth” it’s one that was written by a former historical interpreter and Colonial Michilimackinac. She did a lot of research to write that book and it’s basically Straits Region food, historical recipes that have been adapted for a modern kitchen and modern cook. Apparently you can buy it used? Since it’s probably only sold in the museum stores. I think in the store it goes for about $20, most of those used prices look pretty good. Anyhoo, a lot of my staff who have to cook in our 1830’s kitchen use this book as reference when figuring out what and how to cook.

While I’m studying Food History, I am also taking a free online course through Harvard’s “edX” about the Science of cooking. It’s a 10 week course that’s got really nicely done video’s and clear information. It just started today, so I think you can still join? If not, check out the rest of their course offerings, they are free, high quality and cover a variety of subjects! I will definitely be enrolling in more of them. “SPUx27 Science & Cooking: From Haute Cuisine to Soft Matter Science.”

and last but not least…at least for now. I am learning french! I found this really cool App/Website called “Duolingo” it’s a 100% free, comprehensive, fun and effective language learning tool! It’s so cool, if you’re interested in learning languages just stop right now and go read it. Create an account, be my friend “breezyink” and wrinkle your brain!

It’s good to be back, there’s so much I want to share with you! So check back with me regularly!

What are your thoughts?

