Liebster Award

Edit: I actually wrote this post over a month ago, thought I lost it in a freak “crap I didn’t save this before I closed the browser!” but then come to find out it DID save! God bless autosave… so this post is a bit overdue, but too fun to not share. The next post on my interpretation series is in the percolator.

So my dad over at Journey to the Center of the Soul “nominated” my blog for a Liebster Award. Which is pretty awesome, and makes me feel good. Thanks Dad! I’m glad at least one person is reading my blog! 😉  The Liebster award is an informal award chain given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 readers/followers. ‘Liebster’ in German means – dearest, sweetest, kindest, beloved….and all the nice words you can think of. Most of the blogs I follow are pretty popular and have a lot of followers, though there is at least one person I can pass it along too!

Now for eleven enlightening random facts about myself. (Though in all honesty I feel like much of my life is “random.”)

1. I really dislike swimming in lakes…fish freak me out, so does seaweed…and currents, and the fact that I’m not a strong swimmer, nor do I like being wet or cold. Ironic considering I ride a ferry across the Straits of Mackinac every day…..

2. I lived on an island without cars for 6 summers.

3. I love organizing things, and labeling them. (So much so that I was actually given an award for it one year at work) It’s genetic, my mother is the same way.

4. I will take animals over people any day, they are my friends…my cats talk back to me…(but I don’t understand what they’re saying…)

5. If Rob dies before me, I plan on becoming a Nun.

6. I also really love old hymns, and hope to someday build one (or more) country church buildings in which to hold hymn singing services…

7. I have start-itis syndrom…(I start projects and never finish them, or finish them months…years…later) At any given time there are probably a dozen started projects around me.

8. I am not and never have been able to care or keep up with pop culture, I have no idea what’s happening in the music/movie/celebrity world. I grew up listening to classical music, now I listen to a lot of folk music. The first CD I ever bought was of Frank Sinatra, I listened to “oldies” non-stop for a while there. I also hate going to concerts…. “Do what I want!” ha.

9. I thoroughly enjoy people watching, like almost to an anthropogical level. If I was rich/disciplined I’d seriously consider studying Anthropology…after I finished women’s history, biology/forestry, and more art degrees…..

10. I enjoy collecting the silly little plastic animals from the quarter machines in various establishments. My brothers got me started on that…Though rarely do I have quarters on hand…

11. I often wish I was much more talented at my crafts than I am…which I then feel bad about when people tell me they wish they were as good as me.

Learning all kinds of things about me aren’t you?! Now to answer the 11… (or rather 5) questions that were posed to me!

1. What writers/people have inspired you most?

There has never been one particular person who most inspired me, I consumed books on a colossal level growing up. I have always looked up to my parents, they have been wonderful examples of parents, of married people, of down-to-earth believers, they always welcomed people into their home. I have been greatly blessed in that department. Lately I’ve also been reading bits and pieces of things written or said by Mother Teresa, I want to be more like her.
2. What is your idea of a relaxing day?

Either tromping around the woods taking photographs and absorbing as much nature into my soul as possible, or lounging around the house with Rob watching netflix and eating yummy food.

3. If you could have an alternate career, what would it be?

I would love to be a Naturalist guide at a National Park, or a farmer
4. What is your favourite season and why?

I love all the seasons! Truly, that’s why I love Michigan, I thoroughly enjoy each season and the changes it brings, I love watching the world transform as the seasons turn. Not to mention they myriad of outfits that can be worn in a year!
5. What is your greatest accomplishment

I don’t know that I’ve reached my greatest accomplishment yet…though I’m pretty proud of settling into a different town than the one I grew up in, of working a “job” I love,

6. How would you like to spend your retirement?

Plan A) is to live in a Holodeck and “time-travel.” Plan A part 2) Is to turn my house/self into a biographical living history museum. I want to re-create key rooms from all the places I’ll have lived, decorated appropriately for the corresponding decades, complete with interpretive panels/interpreters talking about life at the turn of the 21st century. Being the last generation of corded phones and dial-up internet, I think it’s important. I will be at the end of the museum in my comfy chair, with my animals, available to answer questions and tell stories.  Plan B) Buy an RV and spend all year traveling to and participating in different historical reenactments. Plan C) Become a nun and devote the rest of my life to spreading God’s Love in the world.

7. Are you a cat or dog person?

yes! Both, I love them all, and would have a dog if we didn’t work all the time in the summer.

8. What song would you like played at your funeral?

There’s actually a few songs I’d like, “Long Time Traveler” is the latest. However, I plan on recording myself singing these songs, so they can be played at the funeral…actually I’m just planning my whole funeral service myself for optimum fun and tears.

9. Why do you blog?

Two reasons, it’s my way of keeping a personal history of sorts for myself down the road and for future generations. I also blog for a creative outlet and to say things to the world.

10. Where’s one place you’ve always wanted to go?

I would love, love, love, to see the Redwood forests in California.

11. What’s one skill you really wish you had?

I would love to be a master woodworker. I also wish I was a spectacular singer.

The “Eleven” Questions: (I only chose eight. You can add more if you like.)

1. What writers/people have inspired you most?
2. What is your idea of a relaxing day?
3. If you could have an alternate career, what would it be?
4. What is your favourite season and why?
5. What is your greatest accomplishment?

6. If you could be any character from any story, who would you be and why?

7. What is a passion of yours?

8. What advancement in society would you most like to see and why?

So that’s a bit about me, I am passing along the nomination to  my brother, sister (even though she doesn’t write much……) and “Jane”

Justin: http://jdumois01.wordpress.com/ has been keeping a blog about all the cool life changing stuff going on during the three months he spent doing a prayer internship.

Nicole: http://jewelsandtrucks.wordpress.com/ blogs off an on about life with a young family

and “Jane” http://www.thyhandhathprovided.com/ posts the loveliest things about her life, family, garden and food!

One thought on “Liebster Award

  1. Thank you so much for sweet nomination! And, I can tell from reading your questions and answers above- you are FABULOUS!! Blessings to you and all your endeavors in life. This world is blessed to have you in it:-).

What are your thoughts?

