Christmas Happenings

all the treats!
all the treats!

It’s that time of year again, time to bust out the sugar, butter, chocolate and all those things that are “bad” for you. There are a few Christmas treats that I have made/had every Christmas for as long as I can remember. Some of my favorites are gingerbread (and not just ANY gingerbread…) and rum balls (or bars in our lazy case) Two nights ago Rob and I stayed up until 5am baking cookies and making candied things. I will be posting all the recipes I used, (I want each one to have it’s own post for easy reference!)

December 2012_002
my handsome helper

Two of the recipes we made I got off of Pinterest;

Lemon Sugar Cookies
Lemon Sugar Cookies (Click on picture for recipe site)
Candied Pecans (Click picture for recipe site)
Candied Pecans (Click picture for recipe site)

These pecans are really easy, really quick, and delicious! I made a pound for my mom for Christmas, she loved them!

I’ve been busy stringing cotton balls onto thread to make “snow” garland. We tacked them up on the ceiling around the living room and dining room, it has a surprisingly festive effect!

the picture just doesn’t do it justice.

About a week or so ago, I did something to my wrist/hand and it hurts like the dickens to do anything! I’m afraid I’m a prime candidate for carpal tunnel given all the crafting I do and tap technology I use. It’s slowed me down a little…just a little. I am thankful that I don’t have a super urgent things to do right now, a week later and some crafting stress relief gloves and I’m doing much better! I was able to finish my second Michigan doll,

Adalaide, or Ada for short. :)
Adalaide, or Ada for short. 🙂

In the process of making her I was able to draft patterns for her dress, which I hope will make it easier to create new clothes for the next ones!  I am very excited about these dolls, I love the way they feel when you hold them, they are just the perfect size for hugging.

My mother-in-law is visiting us for a few days, so I’ll be taking a break from the crafting and baking, going to see The Hobbit in theatre’s again! (If you haven’t seen it, go see it!!!) I am looking forward to a quiet Christmas with Rob. What’s your favorite part about Christmas?

What are your thoughts?

